Llego a Madrid

22 Sep

I arrived yesterday morning and I couldn’t be more excited! I will be living in what so far has been a very beautiful and clean city for the next 8-9 months. (And by beautiful I don’t just mean the buildings, I mean the gorgeous people walking the streets. They’re everywhere and I feel a little obsolete.)
It’s been a whirlwind since I started traveling the morning before morning. I cried on my flight from Charlotte, got excited during my layover in NYC and slept through my flight to Spain. Upon arriving to Madrid, I immediately opted for the cheapest mode of transportation to get from the airport to the apartment I will be living in this year. For only 2 Euros I rode the metro across the city and because I only paid 2 Euros I also got to pull my 100lbs (at LEAST) of luggage slightly uphill, and up some stairs, for a mile.

Being in Madrid so far reminds me a lot of the summers I’ve spent in NYC. It’s a big city, people are everywhere, streets are lined with shops and open-air restaurants and the fashion is great. (BTW, I did, of course, try my best to wear an “I’m-not-trying-too-hard-BUT-definitely-look-like-I’m-maybe-European, hopefully” outfit.) Being in NYC always inspires me to be independent and follow my dreams, both of which are being played out in this move to Madrid.

I thought about this trip for two years, but I still feel like it snuck up on me. I hope to grow up, worry less, really become an independent adult, learn about other cultures and become fluent in Spanish while I’m here. I’ve been reading Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, which seemed very appropriate for getting into a travel-the-world-and-find-yourself kind of mood. Although, I will not be eating for 4 months straight, I do not meditate or chant (but definitely will be praying), and probably won’t be falling in love over here since my boyfriend is in Florida (if that’s not how the book ends don’t tell me because I’m not that far).

More to come!
XO

One Response to “Llego a Madrid”

  1. Christy C. September 23, 2010 at 1:47 am #

    I love the Blog. I’m so glad you are enjoying it! Be safe, have fun, and keep us updated!! Miss you!!

Leave a Reply

