Comida Buena

26 Sep

I love to eat. While I have been eating less over here so far, mostly due to smaller portion sizes and being cheap, I made up for it this weekend. The people here seem to like papas fritas (potato chips) and patatas (french fries) A LOT. There are entire tapas bars and little shops dedicated to these two foods. Some friends and I ate at a tapas bar called Patatas yesterday and it was delicious! I’ve always loved french fries, and Patatas has the best. They’re made fresh and served with salsa or other dipping sauces rather than plain ketchup.

Patatas with salsa mexicana, yum!

Of course, what everyone really, REALLY loves to eat in Spain is paella. I reintroduced seafood into my diet before coming to Madrid just to be able to eat paella. Tonight, some other friends and I split vegetable paella…and it was SO GOOD. The flavors were perfect, and it was cooked perfectly. So really, it wasn’t just good, it was perfect. We opted for the veggie version tonight since all three of us are vegetarians who are willing to eat seafood only because we are abroad. (I’ve also met one more vegetarian and five other Aquariuses, btw.) I can’t wait to eat this dish again and to try it with seafood!

Perfection on a plate.

XO

4 Responses to “Comida Buena”

  1. Vanessa Staton September 27, 2010 at 12:15 am #

    Eat,pray,love Marisa. Enjoy!

  2. Justin October 31, 2012 at 5:06 am #

    Hey I stumbled across this while doing a search on google. I did a study abroad in Madrid in 2007 and I loved that bar patatas. I’m going back to Madrid in about 10 days and I can’t remember where it is. I have searched all over the Internet but can’t find it. I know it was off of the brown line. Any chance you remember?

    • marisadstaton November 4, 2012 at 1:08 am #

      Hey, Justin! It was close to San Bernardo metro stop (brown and red lines). I want to say it is right off of the street San Bernardo if you are walking toward Gran Via from the metro stop… I hope this helps!

      • Justin November 4, 2012 at 2:33 am #

        I actually found it. It’s spelled Patatus and you can find it easily on google maps. I’m super pumped to go again. I leave for Madrid next Friday Nov 9

Leave a Reply

