El Pueblo de Mi Escuela

30 Sep

My friend and I started off our day with an authentic Spanish breakfast. According to Rick Steve’s Spain, which I carry in my purse most of the time, Spaniards have coffee and pastries for breakfast rather than bacon and eggs. So, we shared a croissant and churros with our coffee before going to visit our school.

Pastries, delicious coffee, YUM!

Our school is about a 45 minute bus ride outside of Madrid. At first I wasn’t too excited about the commute, especially since that means my monthly metro pass is 75 euro—way more expensive than a metro pass for just el centro. After visiting today, though, I couldn’t be happier! I will be working at an elementary school in a town called Manzanares El Real. The town sits between the bottom of a mountain and a lake…the view couldn’t be prettier! We got off the bus right beside Castillo de Manzanares El Real, which was a great first impression. It will be a nice change from the city and I can travel to surrounding towns with my metro pass!

View south of the town

View north of the town

Castillo de Manzanares El Real

We walked up to the school while the kids were in recess, and (obviously) I was immediately petrified. (Everyone reading this should know how awkward I can be with kids and that I am not a fan of large groups of them.) It was nice to find out that during recess, teachers get a break complete with a spread of coffee, cheese, ham, bread, fruit and donuts. After meeting some of the teachers I sat in on a 4th grade science class just to observe. The class was so fun! The kids are learning about weather and climate, even climate change (and being a geography minor, I actually love this subject)! I already thought of activities I want to do with them. Maybe I won’t be so bad at this after all…and maybe I shouldn’t speak too soon, ha.

XO

Plaza in the town where I'm sure to spend part of my 2 hour siesta when it's nice out!

5 Responses to “El Pueblo de Mi Escuela”

  1. Jennifer September 30, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    You mispelled SIESTA silly Marisa

  2. Vanessa Staton October 1, 2010 at 1:23 am #

    Dear Marisa,
    I look forward to every entry. Your descriptions and photos of the cuisine have my mouth tasting it as if I were there. The views and your energy and passion about the city and countryside and people of Madrid convey a place everyone should visit and experience. I love your “Marisa” comments about your shoes and your Spanish.
    I love and miss you Marisa. Thanks for sharing your wonderful experiences with me and others.

  3. Beau October 1, 2010 at 4:07 am #

    Marisa, I was just wondering why the streets looked so empty? Like the town is deserted or something. Yes, the castle is awesome and the vista’s amazing.

    • marisadstaton October 1, 2010 at 4:42 am #

      It’s a small town, but it was during the siesta so most things were closed and people were home.

Leave a Reply

