What a Week!

22 Oct

Yesterday morning at about 7:30 a.m. I was sitting in a cafe near Plaza de Castilla, one of maybe two or three cafes open at that early, having coffee and a croissant. I had missed the 7:25 a.m. bus by mere minutes for the second time this week and was completely exhausted BUT couldn’t have been happier to be dipping my croissant into my cafe con leche and listening to “Man, I feel Like a Woman” in the middle of Madrid. This moment- failing at the metro system, or the metro system failing me, drinking lots of coffee, running late, or just running around, and being tired- pretty much sums up my whole week. This was my first week of full work and I couldn’t be happier to have Fridays off and to be doing absolutely nothing right now. Waking up at 6 a.m., commuting, teaching private classes 1-2 hours after work and getting home at 9 p.m.  M-Th…I don’t know how real teachers do it! Luckily, I always have at least a 3-day weekend.

This week definitely had it’s interesting parts, so here are some of the highlights:

  • Dear man on the metro smoking a joint, why are you trying to hide what you’re doing by “discretely” relighting your joint under your seat after every hit? We all see you doing it, smell it and are probably getting a contact high from the smoke that is quickly filling this very small space. After two stops I had to get off and move to a different car.
  • In fourth grade English, the kids are learning about different jobs. Teacher: “What jobs do you know?” Kid: “Singer!” Teacher: “Good, do you know any famous singers?” Multiple Kids: “Micheal Jackson!!!!” Que impromptu dance party.
  • Dear RyanAir, your flights are super cheap, but charging 20 euro to use a Visa, Mastercard or American Express to pay for the flight is not. Am I missing something here?! Everyone raved about cheap flights around Europe!

XO

Leave a Reply

