Hi, November!

3 Nov

I can’t believe it’s already November! AND that the first week of November is almost over! Time has been flying by, but it also feels like I’ve been here awhile now.

I am sad to say that November was not rung in with an huge Halloween celebration the night before. (Of course, with the exception of my awesome trip to Salamanca on Friday!) In fact, Halloween was kind of a bust and didn’t even come close to Chapel Hill. I guess I was expecting too much. I was told that Halloween is a relatively new holiday here (people my age didn’t even know what it was when they were younger and still aren’t into it now), but I figured there would be way more parties on the 31st. All Saints Day on November 1st is a much bigger deal here (and kind of solemn), so I’m guessing that partly accounts for all the closed bars on Sunday night.

The people that were out did dressed up…a lot! For the most part, people from Madrid only dress as 4 things, all of which are actually scary (witch, vampire, zombie/ other type of dead person, devil). The American and English people here, though, reminded me of being on Franklin Street 🙂 There was a group of English people dressed as calvary men, some American girls I know were the characters from Alice in Wonderland, and I even saw a couple of decked out Star Wars characters. My favorite costume, though, was an American guy, 21 years old or less, who dressed as an abono de transportes (aka monthly metro pass). It was cheap and creative….cardboard and marker. Definitely something that would’ve been on Franklin Street!

XO

 

The abono with our abonos!

 

One Response to “Hi, November!”

  1. Cat November 5, 2010 at 6:52 am #

    That guy is totally my friend Danny! A qué el mundo es un pañuelo!

Leave a Reply

