Shhhh!

12 Nov

Shh-ing is not ever very effective and definitely is NOT a form of discipline. At my school in Manzanares, though, it is the first and sometimes only attempt at gaining any type of control over the classroom. (Treats of copying or taking away 5 minutes of recess come in second and a stern talking to in Spanish a close third.)

Don’t get me wrong. These kids are super cute and it is very hard to learn another language, I DEFINITELY understand that. I like working with them, especially when I get to work the kids in small groups or one-on-one. I also remember when I was in third and fourth grade and I was NOT able to talk constantly, play with toys or paper planes or be constantly out of my seat like these kids are.

Sometimes I just move off to the side and stare in awe…or stare into space and try to ignore the chaos. For example, there may be a group of kids up front giving a science presentation. At the same time, there will also be a group of kids having a whistling contest, a table of kids fighting with each other, at least two kids still clapping for the last group that presented because each of them want to have the last clap, the teacher shhh-ing and grading simultaneously, a few kids actually paying attention and the rest of them drawing or cutting paper or playing with silly bands or cards. This is exactly what transpired in one of my classes on Thursday.

Last week there was a very similar scene in another class, except one little girl took it one step further by cutting her own fingers and hair with her scissors. (This is the same little girl that has been acting like a cat for about three weeks now, HA!)

One of the teachers at my school explained to another assistant that they aren’t as hard on the kids like we are in the U.S. The kids in Spain (or rather at this specific school in Manzanares) are given more leeway because when they’re older they will naturally behave better and be more studious. Hmmm. I’m not sure I agree with that logic.

Sometimes you just have to laugh…or bang your head against the wall, lol.

XO

One Response to “Shhhh!”

  1. vanessa November 12, 2010 at 2:50 am #

    i feel like i just spent a day at the school with you. what fun! keep it coming. i love learning about spain this way.

Leave a Reply

