Happy Thanksgiving!

25 Nov

I would like to take time to say Happy Thanksgiving to everyone back at home! Thanksgiving isn’t celebrated here at all, so everyone has still been working and going about their lives as usual. I even almost forgot to say Happy Thanksgiving to the other English assistants at work this morning it’s so normal here! I did do a presentation about our holiday in my classes today, which mostly just made me wish I was back home with everyone. The kids seemed to like it, though, especially the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade and the food. I am definitely missing watching the parade with my mom and football with my dad, eating way too much, then staying up all night to go Black Friday shopping with Crandall! I am so thankful that all of you are a part of my life 🙂

My American friends an I are having Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow, but it’s hard to find some of the ingredients for the must-have dishes. No one here has ever heard of stuffing, cranberry sauce or casseroles. You’re lucky if you find pre-made pie crust. My friend had to search high and low for sweet potatoes, and I can only make squash casserole IF I can find any squash, ha. Other people are making apple pie, mashed potatoes and mac ‘n’ cheese, YUM! Even if the recipes are a little different than back at home, I’m looking forward to it.

Hope everyone is having a relaxed Thanksgiving!

XO

Leave a Reply

